Python FTW

I’ve finally decided to start learning a programming language.  Found a good guide for Python, so that’s what I’m going with.  Also found an interesting site (projecteuler.net) which presents problems that require programming to complete.  Tonight I wrote my first program to answer this question:

Each new term in the Fibonacci sequence is generated by adding the previous two terms. By starting with 1 and 2, the first 10 terms will be:   1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 13, 21, 34, 55, 89, …

Find the sum of all the even-valued terms in the sequence which do not exceed four million.

And here’s what I came up with (this program generated the answer is less than 1/2 a second):

Answer: 4,613,732

It’s 11:30 and I don’t know if I will be able to fall asleep.

Leave a Reply

