2.40

Mathematics – I have been frustrated recently with the intellectual tenacity of my students. During today’s warmup (a somewhat tricky equation) I changed up a few of my habits and the students engaged in much more productive mathematical behavior. Firstly, I didn’t have someone put it on the board. In fact, I never revealed the correct answer. I think I had trained them to give up and wait for the answer to descend from on high. Instead, I forced them to trade notebooks and find errors in their partners work, even when they were not yet finished with the equation.
image

Physics – Why is the sky blue? This demo was improved upon much from last year. Basically a microcosm of my entire year in physics.
image

Leave a Reply

